1 Comment

Forest Gumbo (It’s like a box of chocolates, you never know what you are going to get)

Forest Gumbo

Pictured is a game hen stuffed with Bristol and wild rice surrounded by Southwestern spicedgumbo gravy. I made it healthy by using olive oil for the roux and lean wild Northwestern meats ( bear sausage,  venison sausage and chunks of elk tenderloin).

One of my favorite recipes to make (and eat) is gumbo. This dish is on my “What to eat before you die,  Northwest Meets Southwest Infusion Cuisine kicking the  bucket around list”. I named this wild game one-dish feast “Forest Gumbo”.

I was able to get my hands on some bear sausage, elk sausage and venison tenderloin while spending five months in Oregon.

It all depends on what I can get my hands on.

One comment on “Forest Gumbo (It’s like a box of chocolates, you never know what you are going to get)

  1. WOW! I am just jumping around here, you have such a lovely blog and I want to read it all right now and just have a few minutes here and there!

Leave a Reply

