2 Comments

Northwest Meets Southwest Chorizo Stuffed Chicken Breast

Chroizo stuffed chicken breast wrapped in bacon

For this lodge recipe, I butterflied a chicken breast and topped it with chorizo and finely chopped sun-dried tomatoes.  I rolled the beast up and wrapped very thin slices of side pork seasoned with natural hickory smoke powder tightly around the bundle.  I pan fried the breast on medium heat until the pork was browned on all sides.  I removed the breast from the pan and placed it in a 350 degree oven. While the chicken was baking, I drained the pork fat from the pan and  added 2 Tablespoons of olive oil.  I sauteed chopped peeled tomatillos. jalapenos, green peppers and onion.  I added a splash of tequila, half a cup of chicken both and one half teaspoon of finely crushed Mexican oregano. Then I added salt and cumin to taste.

By the time the saute was done, so was the chicken and chorizo stuffing.  I sliced the breast in half, topped it with the sauce and garnished it with baby tomatillos and pepitas (green pumpkin) seeds, and my Sunflower Seed & Cilantro Pesto.

This dish does not have the additives bacon has, and is low carb. and low fat as most of the pork fat cooks out.  The pork wrapping keeps the breast juices in making this a mouth-watering decadent treat.

2 comments on “Northwest Meets Southwest Chorizo Stuffed Chicken Breast

  1. OMG yummy.

Leave a Reply

