1 Comment

“Making Do” Honey Dew Salad with Chunky Ginger Peach Vinaigrette, Goat Cheese and Walnuts

Growing up in rural Montana I learned the skill of “making do”.  Grabbing ingredients at random out of the cupboard and refrigerator when caught in a bind.  Now, trusting my instincts for infusing ingredients together is just second nature.  
Non-delivery of lettuce at a lodge inspired this recipe.  I did not have enough lettuce for ten salads so I sliced up a honey dew melon and made a peach vinaigrette with canned peaches in their own juice.  For the vinaigrette, I combined peach juice, fresh grated ginger, and rice wine vinegar in a blender.  Reducing the blender speed to low, I slowly added safflower oil to a ratio of two to one with the vinegar.  Lastly, I added a little fresh tarragon, wild honey and salt to taste.  I diced the canned peaches and added them to the vinaigrette.  Right before serving I tossed on a little goat feta cheese from a local Montana farm and chopped walnuts. This ended up as a refreshing fruit salad receiving rave reviews from guests.

Honey Dew Salad

One comment on ““Making Do” Honey Dew Salad with Chunky Ginger Peach Vinaigrette, Goat Cheese and Walnuts

  1. What a beautiful salad! Love the combination! I love to take what I got on hand and make something from nothing, it is called being lazy here, we neither one wanted to go to the market that day!

Leave a Reply

