Leave a comment

Sugar Loaf Rum Cake

Sugar Loaf Rum Cake

This dessert inspiration came from Sugar Loaf in the Florida Keys where I stayed with my friends.  My guide friend Sheila took me to a little bakery and we shared a mango cake.  Being one not to leave “well enough” alone, I came home and made my own version of a kicked up mango cake.

I made a banana bread batter and added Captain Morgan’s spice rum,  along with mangoes and coconut. Crystallized sugar on top brushed with more rum gives this sugar loaf it’s crowning glory.

Sugar Loaf Marina

Leave a Reply

