1 Comment

Dog Sledding and Snow Corn Eating

http://www.sundresschef.com

In February 2011, on Mount Bachelor, I got a little taste of what it would be like to dog sled in Alaska, along with the name for a meringue dessert I had created a few years back; to stretch left over-brownies into a “make do” in Montana desert for unexpected dinner guests.  The perfect desert to top of my “what to eat before you die” food bucket list.

“I have a surprise for you.” he said. It could be the first item on your bucket list. It involves snow, and you may get cold and wet.” This winter combo platter did not sound very appetizing to a fair weather, drift boat fly-fishing, lodge chef. “Is it dangerous?” I asked, with a diminutive nervous laugh. “It could be?” He replied, teasingly.

I knew that to be on a bucket list, there had to be some degree of danger involved. So since I had a short time to think about the possibilities, my racing mind conjured up everything from snow ball bazookas to Bob sledding. I could not visualize anything involving snow, cold, and wet that combined with the words “safe” and “bucket list”. My next question was “Do I have to get off my feet onto any moving object?” “Trust me!” He replied, “I don’t think you could get hurt.” I stared wide-eyed, rapidly blinking, and said “uh-huh, yeah right,” with a surreptitious smile.

I have taken many potentially dangerous leaps of faith in my past, without the fear one can only become acquainted with after testing their limitations, and I certainly have not always ended up landing on my feet while doing so (I have the scars and lumps from knitted bones to prove it). Giving up my self-control, and putting my faith and trust in someone else’s hands, is not easy for my inner child, Little Miss “I have to do it myself!” Beyond a doubt, this person had to be someone I felt I could trust emphatically to have my back at all times.

There are times to be afraid (we have adrenaline in our bodies for a reason). There are also unjustified fears leftover from past experiences, that when given time for advance fore-thought, our over-functioning brains can conjured up endless possibilities of impending doom. We tend to forget the times when everything worked out just fine, and still try to whip up a batch of wasted “worst case scenarios” to nibble on. In my case, I have always had partial wonder lust combined with temperate thrill seeking. I crave short bursts of adrenaline rushes only with only enough juice to intermittently jump-start my low 52 beats-per-minute resting heart rate. To my dismay and detriment, I also have to deal with a lack of coordination from the very real physical limitation of a slightly off-of-center, long legged, gravity problem.

I thought all sled dogs were large like Malamutes. These dogs were small and seemed a little out of control. They were jumping up and down, barking, and pulling at their harnesses in anticipation. They had ear to ear smiles on their doggie faces and were teasing each other like mischievous first-graders on a field trip tether line. The attendant in the process of hooking up the dogs told me several had run the Iditarod. I thought “really?” as the antics of the sled dogs in front of me, brought to mind the “cat herding” television commercial, and I had to snicker with new apprehension now at the thought of being a part of total dog sledding chaos. However, when given the signal, play time was immediately over, and these comic canines were off and running, like horses out of a starting gate with blinders on. I was laughing and enjoying the ride as the sled rounded corners and I tried to dodge the little kernels of Snow Corn popping off their back paws and smacking me in the face.

Snow Corn

The first item I checked off my bucket list, was a complete surprise that turned out to be nothing at all to be afraid of.  It was a piece of cake!”  Well, how about a piece of baked Alaska (an impressive, yet simple to make frozen dessert cliché to top off an amazing day never to be forgotten) which I named “Montana Mud Slide”. Since I have always been a “spontaneous planner” who tends to over-think preconceived notions, and certainly not one for ‘making lists”, I think a good twenty-five more years of kicking the bucket back again, when I have the opportunity for it to come spinning my way, while working on conquering my basiphobia; will be the best way to go out.

Brownie boulders embedded in meringue, and sandwiched between layers of Tillamook Rocky Road and Utterly Chocolate ice cream, topped with hot fudge and Kahlua whipped cream; come together to make a “killer” dessert of gigantic proportions for my fly-fishing destination clients.

Montana Mud Slide
with hand-molded white chocolate Peppercorn trout

Twice-Baked Montana Mud Slide

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Line the bottom of a 91/2″ X 13″ cake pan with parchment paper.

Twelve 2″ X 2″ left-over brownies cut into quarters.

4 -egg whites (room temperature)

1 1/4 -Cups white sugar

2 -tsp. vanilla

1 -tsp. cream of tartar

1 -tsp. white vinegar

2 -Tablespoons cornstarch

1 -pint container of heavy whipping cream

1 -quart Tillamook (or other) Rocky Road ice cream (square container)

1 -8 oz jar hot fudge ice cream topping

1 -1/2 cup Kahlua

1 -cup chopped nuts (walnuts or peanuts)

In a large mixing bowl, beat egg whites on low with electric mixer until foamy.  Add cream of tartar, vinegar, and cornstarch.  Turn mixer to medium and slowly add sugar, one half a cup at a time, until sugar starts to dissolve.  Turn mixer to high, and beat meringue to stiff (but not dry) peaks.  With a rubber spatula, slowly fold in brownie pieces.  Scrape mixture into prepared cake pan, and bake in the upper third of oven for 35 to 40 minutes, or until crunchy on top.  Turn off heat, and allow to cool in the oven for an hour.  Turn upside-down onto a large cutting board, Cut in 6 pieces and place crusty side up on a large serving platter.  When ready to serve, open box of ice cream and cut into one inch thick slices.  Place on meringue mixture.  In a medium size bowl, add remaining vanilla to whipping cream. Beat to stiff peaks.  Warm hot fudge slightly (15 seconds) in microwave, add Kahlua.  Fold whipping cream into hot fudge.  Scoop spoonfuls onto ice cream.  spreading here an there to look like mud.  Sprinkle with nuts.  Serve in dishes, or better yet, place the platter in the middle of the table with spoons.  A great party desert.

One comment on “Dog Sledding and Snow Corn Eating

  1. Dog sledding was so much fun in Alaska. I do love that state and have booked a third trip next August.

Leave a comment